Apple Coffee Cake

24 Apr

IMG_6449

I love weekends, as does every other human being on this planet. But while I enjoy sleeping in on Saturdays, having pillow talk with B, and making gourmet breakfasts for him and I, I have a special appreciation for Sundays. I guess it’s my “me” day of the week. B works early Sunday mornings, which gives me the opportunity to do things that don’t interest him (like paint my nails, watch TV shows I’m behind on,  or catch up on some cooking and baking). I typically make my grocery store or mall runs early Sunday morning to beat the rush or call my mom and gab without worrying about the time. Basically, it’s a great way to close out the weekend by refocusing some energy into myself. I can only imagine how important this will be once B and I start a family (although we’re in no rush to do so). So, in the spirit of enjoying the moments you have to yourself, I have a delicious apple coffee cake that will give you a respite from the busy life you lead. Also, it’s easy to make and uses ingredients you’ll likely already have.

What do you do when you have time to yourself? I ‘d love to hear what you do in your “me” time.

IMG_6452

Ingredients:

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup plain yogurt

Topping:

2 apples, peeled, cored and thinly sliced – I used a Granny Smith apple
1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
2 1/2 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350F. Grease a 9 inch round springform pan and line the bottom with waxed paper.

2. Cream together the butter and sugar until light and creamy. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the vanilla extract.

3. In a separate bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt.

4. Add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients, then add the yogurt, and stir until smooth. Spoon the batter into prepared pan and smooth the surface.

5. Arrange the apple slices evenly over the mixture in a circular pattern, starting in the center. In a small bowl add the sugar and cinnamon, mix together. Sprinkle the apple slices with the cinnamon and sugar mixture. Melt the butter and drizzle over the top.

6. Bake for 45 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the center of the cake. Leave in the pan for 5 minutes to cool, pop open the springform pan, cut and enjoy.

3 Responses to “Apple Coffee Cake”

  1. colo cleanse July 1, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    Greetings! Very useful advice within this post!

    It’s the little changes that produce the greatest changes. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Alfonzo April 28, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

    Wow, amazing blog layout! How lengthy have you been blogging for?
    you made running a blog look easy. The whole look
    of your website is fantastic, as well as the content material!

    • masala & missoni April 29, 2013 at 8:46 am #

      I’ve been blogging a little over 2 months. While writing/maintaining a blog does take work, I’m glad it appears effortless and natural. Thanks so much for your support!

Leave a Reply

