Black Bean, Roasted Corn, and Green Bean Salad topped with Quinoa

1 May

IMG_6550

I have been wanting to try quinoa for a long time now, but just got around to picking up some last week. After enjoying this salad twice since then (which reminds me, I have some of it leftover in the fridge…I’ma go get me some) I’m regretting not venturing into quinoa territory earlier. I had heard from numerous people that it can essentially replace rice, and after making it (the process of which is very similar to making rice) I realize that this is indeed the case. I enjoyed the organic red variety, but I’m looking forward to trying the black and white kinds. I came across this post that has really straightforward directions for cooking quinoa, as well as a sweet little recipe at the end. I can totally envision myself incorporating quinoa into more dishes and I can’t wait to do so!

IMG_6549

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup chopped green beans (I used frozen, what a Godsend)
  • 1/4 cup corn kernels (also frozen)
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup diced tomato
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp red chilli powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp dried basil
  • 1 can (15 0z) black beans, drained
  • 1 bunch Romaine hearts
  • 1 cup red qunioa, cooked
  • Ranch dressing, to taste
  • cilantro leaves, for garnish

Directions:

On medium heat, pour EVOO in a saute pan. Cook green beans, corn, and tomatoes until softened. Add salt, chilli, garlic powder, black pepper and basil, stirring well. Add drained black beans and incorporate well. Cut romaine lettuce into salad-sized pieces. Start plating with a layer of lettuce. Pour desired amount of ranch dressing on top. Layer bean and corn mixture and top with quinoa. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Black Bean, Roasted Corn, and Green Bean Salad topped with Quinoa”

  1. Amanda May 1, 2013 at 8:36 am #

    Thanks for the reference, Vinni! I LOVE quinoa! Your salad looks yummy and so good for you! My favorite kind!

Leave a Reply

