A (fantastic) year in review!

6 May

With my birthday coming up this weekend, I got to thinking. Possibly because it’s not a major milestone birthday (26), I’m not really planning to “celebrate” it. Yeah, it’s great to reach another year and rejoice that I didn’t make any life-ending decisions (always a good reason to celebrate in itself), but the act of gift-giving, gift-recieving, saying OOOH and writing thank-yous seems unnecessary in today’s society. I can easily buy what I want, in the correct size nonetheless, with the click of a button or a quick trip to the mall. Instead, I’d rather think of birthdays as a day of reflection and appreciation. I LOVE all of the texts, messages, and phone calls I get every year on my birthday. It just serves as a reminder how much you mean to others, and I love that feeling of being extra-special for 24 hours. I appreciate my friends who have showed up at midnight to suprise me. This year, though, I want to take the time to reflect a little. It’s been a monumental year: from ending my formal education (it only took 25 years to finish), to getting engaged, to getting married, to meeting my new family, to traveling to parts of the world I’ve never been to before…suffice it to say, it’s been one helluva year. I can’t wait for the challenges, surprises, struggles, and joys 26 brings. But until I actually turn 26, I want to take a look back at the year that was, a sorta takeaway from my “as of late” posts. I hope you enjoy this week as I post personal pictures from the past year filled with tons of new and exciting (at least to me) things.

As always, I’d love to hear your thoughts on this monologue of mine: what do you think birthdays are for? Celebration? Reflection? Or simply enjoying YOU and what you have brought to this world?

I’ll start this week with a look back near the end of dental school.

SAM_3177

Selfie at brunch in SF

SAM_3198

Good friends at Land’s End on a sunny Saturday in SF. Life doesn’t get much better.

SAM_3258

Dinner with my girls.

SAM_3284

Last birthday’s care package from my parents. So blessed to have them.

SAM_3323

A hike near Stinson Beach. If you’re ever in SF, I highly recommend the trip out there.

SAM_3371

All glammed up, celebrating our achievements in dental school.

SAM_3372

Classic prom pose :)

IMG_3285

My parents before commencement.

IMG_3364IMG_3385IMG_3320

IMG_3403

B’s incredulous: He asks, “Are you really a doctor now!?”

One Response to “A (fantastic) year in review!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Year in Review Part 5: A Whole New World | masala & missoni - May 10, 2013

    […] been a whirlwind of change in the last year, ranging from graduating dental school, getting engaged and eventually married, going on trips, moving to a new town, and starting a new […]

Leave a Reply

