Year in Review Part 2: Engaged life

7 May

 

 

 

CSC_0880

Our engagement was one of the most exciting times of my life (as it probably should be). Leading up to the moment where we got my parents’ blessing (his parents had already given their approval) was confusing, scary, joyful, and hopeful all at once. Questions plagued me (Is this the right guy for me? Are we compatible for the long-haul?) but then happiness would overcome me (like when B made a midnight surprise trip to SF on my birthday with a cake and gifts in hand). I was very confused because I tend to be skeptical, and B was not immune from this. I constantly questioned him and his motives, but ultimately I just let go. I stopped thinking so hard, so logically, which goes against everything I’ve learned through my science education. Sometimes, you just have to leave it up to the Supreme Being to make things right. And right that Supreme Being did.

When my parents invited B to Portland to visit them (so they could scrutinize and interrogate him in person hehe), I don’t know who was more nervous: my parents (who invited a practical stranger home), B (who was the subject of the aforementioned interrogation) or me (for introducing a potential new member to my family). The weekend ended up being surprisingly fun and carefree, with trips to some local destinations (Multonomah Falls, Vista Point) and dinners around the dining table. It was 1 hour before Bally had to leave that things really got exciting. My parents invited me into their bedroom, shut the door (while B was waiting awkwardly in the living room), and asked me, “Are you sure about this guy?” They proceeded to say a prayer, stepped out of the bedroom with mittai in hand, and my dad began to talk. He started with some mundane things, and finally ended with saying we can get married. B was in shock, and as I sat on the couch next to him, he started to shake and tears streamed down his face. He said, “I will treat your daughter like a princess” as we all dabbed tears from our eyes. B and I hugged and I held his trembling hand.

CSC_0853 CSC_0858

A classic Bollywood film pose (and it’s one of my faves in the bunch)

DSC_0692 DSC_0709 DSC_0763 DSC_0718 DSC_0713

 

IMG_4488

At our pre-wedding party, aka Sangeet, in Santa Clara (complete with mendhi)

IMG_4505

Practicing our wedding portrait poses ;)

IMG_4482

 

Infinite thanks to all of our friends who joined in our American celebrations.

5 Responses to “Year in Review Part 2: Engaged life”

  1. Abhimanyu Rajp May 7, 2013 at 11:17 am #

    God Bless you both…. I have seen Ballu cry a few times in my life (getting hit my our teachers, loosing a cricket game, fights with friends blah blah blah) but never for anything in this magnitude…. :) …. Long Haul will will definitely be a sweet journey.

  2. amanda May 7, 2013 at 11:13 am #

    Beautiful pictures!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Year in Review Part 5: A Whole New World | masala & missoni - May 10, 2013

    […] been a whirlwind of change in the last year, ranging from graduating dental school, getting engaged and eventually married, going on trips, moving to a new town, and starting a new job. I also gained […]

Leave a Reply

