Year in Review Part 3: Wedding Bliss

8 May
Our entrance to the engagement party

Our entrance to the engagement party

I think it’s fair to say that one of the biggest moments in your life is when you decide to commit to someone else. Growing up as the younger of two (and having a very-mature-for-his-age brother who is 5 years elder) allowed me to get my way countless times. I didn’t realize this until within the last year, when so many things changed and they were no longer in my control. Gone were the days when I could pout and get what I want. Now, there are others involved, and what they want matters too (or often times, more). Nothing emphasized this more than my wedding.

I had what one would call a big fat Indian wedding. We had a large engagment party, followed the next day by our baraat (complete with 800 guests) that went into the wee hours of the morning. The following morning was our anand karaj (my makeup artist had to add extra concealer to hide my dark circles from a lack of sleep), followed by the reception in the evening. Add to all this that it was essentially a destination wedding for my family, and you’ve got a recipe for one helluva experience. The wedding took place in November in Punjab. My family arrived in India just 12 days prior the wedding, and had so many details to work on. Fortunately in India, where they live for weddings, people understood our time crunch and made things happen. If I told any of my American friends that I didn’t have any of my wedding-related outfits or custom-made jewelry until 1 week prior to the events, they’d likely have a heart attack. But alas, this is India, where much to the surprise to people who haven’t been there, literally anything is possible.

I was thoroughly exhausted after non-stop shopping, trial fittings, meeting my in-laws, taking engagement photos, long beauty parlor sessions, traveling to and from said places, and down time with my relatives. I did have a Bridezilla moment at one of my fittings but B, being the level-headed one in our relationship, calmed me down. This was a once-in-a-lifetime experience and I better enjoy it before it’s over. Thereafter, I took things in stride, realizing that while not everything was exactly the way I had envisioned, it was the way things were meant to be. Besides, minute details no one will remember pales in comparison to the thousands of photos we have of B and I laughing and smiling throughout our wedding.

Flowers shaped into a moon on our engagement stage.

Flowers shaped into a moon on our engagement stage

B making his entrance during the baraat

B making his entrance during the baraat

The baraat venue was breath taking

The baraat venue was breath taking

DSC_3434_resize

Me, having my photoshoot in my private hideaway as I wait for B to arrive to the party

Me, having my photoshoot in my private hideaway as I wait for B to arrive to the party

Inside the venue was equally amazing

Inside the venue was equally amazing

Husband and wife to be

Husband and wife to be

Love this candid of us

Love this candid of us

On our wedding day in the gurdwara

On our wedding day in the gurdwara

Looking dapper at the reception (B doesn't look too bad either) ;)

Looking dapper at the reception (B doesn’t look too bad either) ;)

<3

<3

One Response to “Year in Review Part 3: Wedding Bliss”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Year in Review Part 5: A Whole New World | masala & missoni - May 10, 2013

    […] of change in the last year, ranging from graduating dental school, getting engaged and eventually married, going on trips, moving to a new town, and starting a new job. I also gained family members, toured […]

Leave a Reply

