Year in Review Part 5: A Whole New World

10 May
Celebrating our first Diwali in India

Celebrating our first Diwali in India

It’s been a whirlwind of change in the last year, ranging from graduating dental school, getting engaged and eventually married, going on trips, moving to a new town, and starting a new job. I also gained family members, toured parts of India I’ve never been to before, and had the experience of a lifetime spending Diwali at Darbar Sahib. Reflecting on my past year has been an eye-opening endeavor; I realized how much happened since my last birthday. While I can’t expect every year to be as event-filled as this one, I can look forward to change and progress. I think I’m going to start marking my birthday as a sort of new-year; birthdays should be the time to make resolutions; after all, you’re one year older and hopefully a bit wiser. So that there’s some accountability, I will make this public. My resolutions this year are to be more active, explore more often, FINALLY visit Yosemite (I’ve lived in California 8 years and have yet to go), become more connected to my religion, and see the positive in things before the negative (B is really good at this, I’m more of a work in progress). So with that public declaration, I bid adieu to 25 and welcome 26 with open arms. I can’t wait to see what it brings to the table.

Watching the fireworks at Darbar Sahib on Diwali

Watching the fireworks at Darbar Sahib on Diwali

Darbar Sahib on Diwali

Darbar Sahib on Diwali

Fireworks on the rooftop in Amritsar

Fireworks on the rooftop in Amritsar

Words cannot describe how amazing this was

Words cannot describe how amazing this was

Dinner with the new fam bam

Dinner with the new fam bam

Being silly (as usual)

Being silly (as usual)

More silliness (I swear, I'm not paid for this)

More silliness (I swear, I’m not paid for this)

Meeting the in-laws with a sweet message in rose petals (courtesy of the adorable Twinkle)

Meeting the in-laws with a sweet message in rose petals (courtesy of the adorable Twinkle)

Based on the onlookers, it appears that we might be doing something inappropriate :P

Based on the onlookers, it appears that we might be doing something inappropriate :P

Leave a Reply

